Lord God of mine

In the Spring of 2004, I had just started a job at the State Department in the Federal Triangle area of Washington, DC. just steps from the Capitol. Every day was interesting. Finding a good parking spot, avoiding the homeless beggars, eating lunch at the Congress cafeteria, and writing poetry on the steps of Capitol reflecting pool- it was all very interesting. I felt important to be someone who dressed in a suit, had a job while raising my son by myself. Little did my co-workers know I was teetering on the edge of bouncing checks and losing my apartment. I felt like I could never catch up, never do enough, never be good enough.

One day, while sitting on a bench outside my office building, a man, who was obviously homeless, appeared next to me. At first I tried to move away, but then I realized he was saying something to me, something I should listen to. Through the traffic noise, I heard him say, “Don’t be afraid of what you have to do, Don’t shy away from all that you can do, Remember this as you pass me by, Lord God of mine.” I turned to my coworker frightened, yet inspired, to see if she had heard and seen this man but as I turned back around, he was gone. I never saw him again. It was one of the most amazing moments of my life and yet I had almost coward away from it because of what society tells me is my place. I immediately wrote what he said down in my poetry journal. His words inspired me to be more than I already was. To be a single mother who not only did what I had to do, but did everything I could do, and know, that it was my best. It made me happy to be me, something I had not felt in a long time.

About twinva10

I am a Mother, A Survivor and a Writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lord God of mine

  1. Jay Jayachandran says:

    Rebecca

    That was a great blog. You are a good writer. keep writing.

    Jay

  2. Sharon says:

    Powerful stuff! I get possums that I trip over… you get homeless men. Either way they are signs. I got goosebumps reading about it! What made you think about that today? Or perhaps you remind yourself about this every day? You should because you are doing great and you should be happy to be you! You are a great mom, a wonderful wife and more important than all… an incredible person!

  3. Emily Conway says:

    whoa… I have chill bumps reading that story. Amazing. :o) I like your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

